2018

Date12 Sep 2018 (Wed)
TitleSpecial Lecture - Curvature Properties of Hodge Bundles
SpeakerProfessor Phillip A. Griffiths (Institute for Advanced Study (IAS), Princeton, USA; Member, National Academy of Sciences of the United States)

Date04 Sep 2018 (Tue)
TitleColloquium - Trigonometric Integrals and the Riemann Zeta Function II
SpeakerProfessor Yitang Zhang (University of California Santa Barbara, USA)

Date03 Sep 2018 (Mon)
TitleNumber Theory Seminar - Bounds for Fourier-Jacobi coefficients of Siegel modular forms
SpeakerProfessor Winfried Kohnen (University of Heidelberg, Germany)

Date03 Sep 2018 (Mon)
TitleFrontiers of Mathematics Lecture: Trigonometric Integrals and the Riemann Zeta Function
SpeakerProfessor Yitang Zhang (University of California Santa Barbara, USA)

Date27 Aug 2018 (Mon)
TitlePostgraduate Student Seminar - On Waring-Goldbach Problems of Small Degrees
SpeakerMr. Ching Tak Wing (PhD Student, Department of Mathematics, HKU)

Date23 Aug 2018 (Thu)
TitlePoisson geometry of non-simple Kashiwara operators
SpeakerMr. Yu Li (University of Chicago)

Date21 Aug 2018 (Tue)
TitlePostgraduate Student Seminar - Some Optimal Stopping Problems with Applications in Mathematical Finance
SpeakerMr. Huang Dongchao (PhD Student, Department of Mathematics, HKU)

Date15 Aug 2018 (Wed)
TitleBounds on Autocorrelation Coefficients of Rudin-Shapiro Polynomials
SpeakerProfessor Stephen K.K. Choi (Simon Fraser U, Canada)

Date15 Aug 2018 (Wed)
TitleGeometry Seminar - Cross curvature flow
SpeakerProfessor Pak Tung Ho (Sogang U, Korea)

Date23 Jul 2018 (Mon)
TitlePostgraduate Student Seminar - On Pricing, Hedging and Trading in Financial Management
SpeakerMiss Fenghui Yu (PhD Student, Department of Mathematics, HKU)

Date16 Jul 2018 (Mon) - 23 Jul 2018 (Mon)
Title2018 HKU Number Theory Days on July 16 - 23, 2018

Date19 Jul 2018 (Thu) - 20 Jul 2018 (Fri)
TitleWorkshop on Complex Geometry on July 19 - 20, 2018

Date20 Jul 2018 (Fri)
TitleComputational Science Seminar - A Regularization Parameter Selection Model for Total Variation Based Image Noise Removal
SpeakerProfessor Youwei Wen (Hunan Normal U)

Date18 Jul 2018 (Wed)
TitleFrontiers of Mathematics Lecture: Why does Ramanujan, “The Man Who Knew Infinity”, matter?
SpeakerProfessor Ken Ono (Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Mathematics at Emory University; Vice President of the American Mathematical Society)

Date13 Jul 2018 (Fri)
TitleColloquium - Formal deformations: from modular to Jacobi through quasimodular forms
SpeakerProfessor Emmanuel Royer (Université Clermont-Auvergne & CNRS Laboratoire de mathématiques Blaise Pascal)

Date12 Jul 2018 (Thu)
TitlePostgraduate Student Seminar - Optimal Market Making and Liquidation Strategies in Quantitative Trading
SpeakerMiss Qingqing Yang (PhD Student, Department of Mathematics, HKU)

Date03 Jul 2018 (Tue) - 05 Jul 2018 (Thu)
TitleWorkshop on Stochastic Analysis and Related Topics on July 3 - 5, 2018

Date04 Jul 2018 (Wed)
TitleColloquium - On the Muskat problem with viscosity jump: global in time results
SpeakerProfessor Robert M. Strain (U of Pennsylvania, USA)

Date29 Jun 2018 (Fri)
TitleIMR Lecture Series - Methods of Rational Curves and Pluricanonical Bundles in Complex Geometry (Lecture 2)
SpeakerProfessor Yum-Tong Siu (William Elwood Byerly Professor, Harvard U)

Date26 Jun 2018 (Tue)
TitleGeometry Seminar - Stokes phenomenon, Yang-Baxter equations and Gromov-Witten theory
SpeakerDr. Xiaomeng Xu (MIT, USA)

Date22 Jun 2018 (Fri)
TitleIMR Lecture Series - Methods of Rational Curves and Pluricanonical Bundles in Complex Geometry (Lecture 1)
SpeakerProfessor Yum-Tong Siu (William Elwood Byerly Professor, Harvard U)

Date22 Jun 2018 (Fri)
TitleComputational Science Seminar - Using a Transactor/Revolver Scorecard to Make Credit and Pricing Decisions
SpeakerDr. Mee Chi So (Southampton Business School, U of Southampton)

Date21 Jun 2018 (Thu)
TitleGeometry Seminar - Construction of acylindrical hyperbolic 3-manifolds with quasi-Fuchsian boundary
SpeakerMr.Yongquan Zhang (Harvard U)

Date20 Jun 2018 (Wed)
TitleGeometry Seminar - Recent development in Nevanlinna theory
SpeakerProfessor Min Ru (U of Houston, USA)

Date15 Jun 2018 (Fri)
TitleFrontiers of Mathematics Lecture: Methods of Rational Curves and Pluricanonical Bundles in Complex Geometry
SpeakerProfessor Yum-Tong Siu (William Elwood Byerly Professor, Harvard University, USA; Member, National Academy of Sciences of the United States; Foreign Member, Chinese Academy of Sciences)

Date04 Jun 2018 (Mon)
TitleColloquium - Permanent function: an instrument to solve algebraic and combinatorial problems
SpeakerProfessor A.E. Guterman (Lomonosov Moscow State U, Russia)

Date28 May 2018 (Mon)
TitleStudent Seminar - How to prepare for my graduate studies?
SpeakerMr. Haotian Gu (HKU)

Date23 May 2018 (Wed)
TitleStudent Seminar
SpeakerMr. Haotian Gu (HKU) & Mr. Lexiao Lai (HKU)

Date11 May 2018 (Fri)
TitleColloquium - Introduction to beta-divergence and related applications
SpeakerDr. Hyenkyun Woo (Korean U of Technology and Education, Korea)

Date11 May 2018 (Fri)
TitleColloquium - Well conditioned spherical t-design and its application in numerical integration
SpeakerDr. Congpei An (Jinan U, China)

Date11 May 2018 (Fri)
TitleComputational Science Seminar - Data-driven operator inference for learning physics-based low-dimensional models
SpeakerProfessor Karen Willcox (Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, MIT, USA)

Date07 May 2018 (Mon)
TitleNumber Theory Seminar - On branching problems for classical p-adic groups
SpeakerDr. Kei Yuen Chan (U of Georgia, USA)

Date05 May 2018 (Sat)
TitleHong Kong Geometry Colloquium (at HKU)
SpeakerDr. Sachiko Hamano (Osaka City U, Japan) & Dr. Weiyu Colin Tan (National U of Singapore)

Date03 May 2018 (Thu)
TitleAnalysis Seminar - On long time dynamics of wave map equations
SpeakerDr. Baoping Liu (Beijing International Center for Mathematical Research, Peking U)

Date02 May 2018 (Wed)
TitleGeometry Seminar - Proofs of Pólya’s Positivstellensatz
SpeakerDr. Weiyu Colin Tan (National U of Singapore)

Date30 Apr 2018 (Mon)
TitleNumber Theory Seminar - On the Semisimplicity of Geometric Monodromy Action in F Coefficients
SpeakerProfessor Chun Yin Hui (Mathematical Sciences Center, Tsinghua U)

Date27 Apr 2018 (Fri)
TitleHong Kong Probability Seminar (at CUHK)
SpeakerDr. Ke Wang (HKUST) and Dr. Lihu Xu (U of Macau)

Date23 Apr 2018 (Mon)
TitleGeometry Seminar - Enumerating the fake projective planes (Joint work with Tim Steger)
SpeakerProfessor Donald Cartwright (U of Sydney)

Date19 Apr 2018 (Thu) - 21 Apr 2018 (Sat)
TitleNumber Theory and its connections with Random Matrices and Extreme Values on April 19 - 21, 2018

Date18 Apr 2018 (Wed)
TitleAnalysis Seminar - Error estimates for diffusion equations on coated bodies and lifespan of effective boundary conditions
SpeakerProfessor Xuefeng Wang (SUSTech)

Date12 Apr 2018 (Thu)
TitleComputational Science Seminar - Viscosity Solutions of Hamilton-Jacobi Equations and Related Topics
SpeakerProfessor Yu-Yu Liu (National Cheng Kung U, Taiwan)

Date04 Apr 2018 (Wed)
TitleAnalysis Seminar - On the relativistic Boltzmann equation without angular cutoff
SpeakerDr. Jin Woo Jang (IBS-Center for Geometry and Physics, Korea)

Date04 Apr 2018 (Wed)
TitleComputational Science Seminar - Complete Solution to the Most General Nonlinear Filtering Problems and Its Implementation
SpeakerProfessor Stephen Shing-Toung Yau (Tsinghua U)

Date28 Mar 2018 (Wed)
TitleAnalysis Seminar - A Poisson-Nernst-Planck Model with Singular Permanent Charges
SpeakerDr. Chia-Yu Hsieh (National Center for Theoretical Science, Taiwan)

Date27 Mar 2018 (Tue)
TitleGeometry Seminar - Noncommutative Mather-Yau theorem and its applications to Calabi-Yau algebras and homological minimal model program
SpeakerDr. Gui-Song Zhou (Ningbo Institute of Technology, Zhejiang U & HKU)

Date26 Mar 2018 (Mon)
TitleNumber Theory Seminar - On the global sup-norm of GL(n) cusp forms
SpeakerProfessor Gergely Harcos (Renyi Institute)

Date24 Mar 2018 (Sat)
Title《數趣漫話》──「數學:揭開密碼學奧秘之鑰」
Speaker李溫福博士 (Dr. Benjamin Kane)

Date23 Mar 2018 (Fri)
TitleHong Kong Probability Seminar (at HKUST)
SpeakerProfessor Benoît Collins (Kyoto U) & Professor Laurent Ménard (Université Paris Ouest Nanterre)

Date15 Mar 2018 (Thu)
TitleCareer Talk: Adventures in the FinTech Industry
SpeakerDr. Yan Ting Lam (Strategic Business Innovator Group, Tokyo)

Date14 Mar 2018 (Wed)
TitleSpecial Lecture - The Unchanged Changing World of Mathematical Publishing
SpeakerDr. Joachim Heinze (Senior Advisor, Mathematical Sciences, Springer Verlag, Heidelberg)

Date14 Mar 2018 (Wed)
TitleComputational Science Seminar - Big Data and Artificial Intelligence Applications Around Us
SpeakerDr. Wai-Mo Suen (CEO, ClusterTech Ltd.; Professor, Washington U; Honorary Professor, CUHK) and Dr. Siu-Wai Yiu (Head, Advanced Computational Technology Team, ClusterTech Ltd.)

Date13 Mar 2018 (Tue)
TitlePostgraduate Student Seminar - Quantization of Poisson CGL Extensions
SpeakerMr. Yipeng Mi (PhD Student, Department of Mathematics, HKU)

Date12 Mar 2018 (Mon)
TitlePostgraduate Student Seminar - On the Knutson-Woo-Yong Maps and some Poisson Homogeneous Spaces
SpeakerMr. Shizhuo Yu (PhD Student, Department of Mathematics, HKU)

Date12 Mar 2018 (Mon)
TitleNumber Theory Seminar - On the Ramanujan-Petersson conjecture for modular forms of half-integral weight
SpeakerProfessor Winfried Kohnen (Universität Heidelberg, Germany)

Date08 Mar 2018 (Thu)
TitleColloquium - Convergence of numerical solutions for stochastic partial integro-differential equations subject to space-time white noise
SpeakerDr. Jilu Wang (Florida State U, USA )

Date08 Mar 2018 (Thu)
TitleColloquium - Fast Low Rank Reconstruction via Nonconvex Optimization: Algorithms, Theory and Applications
SpeakerDr. Ke Wei (School of Data Science, Fudan U, Shanghai )

Date07 Mar 2018 (Wed)
TitleColloquium - Some new optimization theory for convergence analysis of fast first-order algorithms
SpeakerDr. Jin Zhang (HKBU)

Date07 Mar 2018 (Wed)
TitleColloquium - Fundamental Group — the Intertwine of Arithmetic and Geometry
SpeakerDr. Lei Zhang (Freie Universität Berlin, Germany)

Date06 Mar 2018 (Tue)
TitleColloquium - Thin groups and related topics
SpeakerDr. Xin Zhang (U of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)

Date06 Mar 2018 (Tue)
TitleColloquium - Automorphic forms and Voronoi formulas
SpeakerDr. Fan Zhou (U of Maine, Orono, USA)

Date05 Mar 2018 (Mon)
TitleColloquium - The number of quartic D4-fields with monogenic cubic resolvent ordered by conductor
SpeakerDr. Sin Yi Tsang (Yau Mathematical Sciences Center, Tsinghua U, Beijing)

Date02 Mar 2018 (Fri)
TitleHong Kong Probability Seminar (at HKU)
SpeakerProfessor Tze Leung Lai (Stanford U) & Dr. Chung Yin Amy Pang (HKBU)

Date01 Mar 2018 (Thu)
TitleColloquium - On the Capacity of 2-Dimensional Channels
SpeakerDr. Yonglong Li (U of California, San Diego)

Date28 Feb 2018 (Wed)
TitleAnalysis Seminar - Mathematical theory of wave scattering by subwavelength resonators and applications
SpeakerDr. Hai Zhang (HKUST)

Date20 Feb 2018 (Tue)
TitleColloquium - An Introduction to Blockchain and Some Related Research Topics in Cryptography
SpeakerProfessor Haibin Kan (Fudan U)

Date14 Feb 2018 (Wed)
TitleColloquium - Mathematical aspect of the combinatorial game "Mahjong"
SpeakerProfessor Chi-Kwong Li (Department of Mathematics, College of William and Mary)

Date10 Feb 2018 (Sat)
TitleHong Kong Geometry Colloquium (at HKUST)
SpeakerProfessor Shou-Wu Zhang (Princeton U & IAS of HKUST) & Professor Masaaki Yoshida (Kyushu U, Japan)

Date08 Feb 2018 (Thu)
TitleGeometry Seminar - Shifted Poisson geometry of Moduli spaces
SpeakerDr. Zheng Hua (HKU)

Date07 Feb 2018 (Wed)
TitleColloquium - Heights and L-functions
SpeakerProfessor Shou-Wu Zhang (Princeton U & IAS of HKUST)

Date07 Feb 2018 (Wed)
TitleAnalysis Seminar - An Extension of the Bianchi-Egnell Stability Estimate to Bakry, Gentil, and Ledoux’s Generalization of the Sobolev Inequality to Continuous Dimensions and an Application
SpeakerDr. Francis Seuffert (U of Pennsylvania)

Date06 Feb 2018 (Tue)
TitleGeometry Seminar - Cohomology of quiver varieties and other moduli spaces
SpeakerProfessor Tom Nevins (U of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

Date05 Feb 2018 (Mon)
TitleAnalysis Seminar - Applications of an annulus covering theorem in complex dynamics
SpeakerProfessor Jianhua Zheng (Tsinghua U)

Date02 Feb 2018 (Fri)
TitleWorkshop on Computational Science and Optimization on February 2, 2018

Date01 Feb 2018 (Thu)
TitlePostgraduate Student Seminar - Standard Poisson Structures on Bott-Samelson Varieties: Degenerations and Frobenius Splittings
SpeakerMr. PENG Jun (PhD Student, Department of Mathematics, HKU)

Date31 Jan 2018 (Wed)
TitleAnalysis Seminar - A survey on decoupling inequalities
SpeakerDr. Po Lam Yung (CUHK)

Date29 Jan 2018 (Mon)
TitleGeometry Seminar - Cohomology in the Batalin-Vilkovisky approach to field theories
SpeakerProfessor Ezra Getzler (Northwestern U)

Date26 Jan 2018 (Fri)
TitleHong Kong Probability Seminar (at CityU)
SpeakerDr. Xiao Fang (CUHK) & Professor Jianfeng Yao (HKU)

Date16 Jan 2018 (Tue)
TitleAnalysis Seminar - Beyond Classical Portfolio Selection
SpeakerProfessor Sheung Chi Phillip Yam (CUHK)

Date09 Jan 2018 (Tue)
TitleAnalysis Seminar - Regularity and decay properties of the Navier-Stokes equations [CANCELLED]
SpeakerDr. Hantaek Bae (UNIST, Korea)

Date08 Jan 2018 (Mon)
TitleAnalysis Seminar - Finite-time blow-up of the n-harmonic map flow
SpeakerMr. Leslie Cheung (U of Queensland, Australia)

Date08 Jan 2018 (Mon)
TitleGeometry Seminar - Foliations in abelian schemes
SpeakerDr. Ziyang Gao (CNRS (IMJ), France & Princeton U)